What is Social Justice?

Social justice is wildly apparent in our every day lives. Minimum wage, censorship, civil rights, and war are only a few of the topics we battle to endure the fight of injustice. However, what really is social justice? First, lets break it down. Social meaning of or relating to human society, the interaction of the individual and the group, or the welfare of human beings as members of society. While justice is the quality of being just; righteousness, equitableness, or moral rightness; the moral principle determining just conduct.

Although there is not a solid definition, I personally believe social justice means fighting for equality and peace, allowing each individual a valued and accomplished life regardless of origin, gender, possessions, race, or religion.

Fighting for justice around the world has increasingly become more important. But why? I know that as a Christian, I am called upon to bring justice to my fellow mankind. As Jeremiah 22:3 states, “Thus says the Lord: Do justice and righteousness, and deliver from the hand of the oppressor him who has been robbed. And do no wrong or violence to the resident alien, the fatherless, and the widow, nor shed innocent blood in this place.” Fighting for social justice is only a necessary part in my Christian living. While I am commanded to bring about justice and righteousness, I am also called to love. John 13:34 states, “A new command I give to you: love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” Whether it be my lonely next door neighbor or a small trafficked child in India, I am called to love. I want to serve, love, and bring justice, just as Jesus did, to those I know, and those I am far from familiar with.

However, social justice involves more than feelings of compassion. It must involve an understanding of each social problem, the cause of the problem, and the solution for the problem, and knowing I am called to address and bring justice to that problem.

Therefore, bringing justice and righteousness is a continuous learning process, peeling back a layer at a time, accomplishing more to end injustice, all while loving those I serve.

As we have each posted our definitions and reflections of social justice, I urge you to think about what Social Justice means to you and share it.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

