A Separation

I’m a huge fan of international films, but for some reason I didn’t hear about A Separation until it won Best Foreign Language Film at the Academy Awards last week. So when a friend asked me to go see it with her, I was naturally all in. Let me describe my experience.

It was painful.

It was painful because it was 2 hours and 15 minutes long.

It was painful because it was full of heartache and death.

It was painful because it forced me to watch as two young girls were emotionally scarred by their parents’ individual quests for justice.

And yet it was truly beautiful.

It was beautiful because despite the length, I forgot I was hearing Persian and reading English subtitles because I was so enthralled by the story.

It was beautiful because in the midst of the heartache there was an underlying theme of self-sacrifice and religious adherence.

It was beautiful because it asked me to ponder why an administration of justice can sometimes prolong and amplify the pain and suffering that had existed before.

 I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

