A Day in the Life

A couple days ago, I had the opportunity to spend a day in the life of a Rwandan artisan through Azizi Life. Throughout the time I spend with the artisans, I hoed a garden, cut grass and carried it on my head to feed to a goat, hauled water up a gigantic hill, ate a traditional meal, shelled a lot of beans, made a couple of mud bricks and learned how to weave. It was a busy busy day, but also quite enjoyable. I think I will always look back at it as a highlight from my time here.

No matter how many times I interact with people living in what we would call “extreme poverty,” I never cease to be amazed with the contentment and joyfulness these people express. They of all people have a right to complain and yet they don’t. Why is that? Why do we who have so much more complain so much for frequently than those who have so little?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

