The ABC’s of Bagels and Donuts

Bagels and Donuts are two of my most favorite American foods–and I just had the opportunity to eat both of them. In case you missed it, I’ve been living in Kigali, Rwanda for the past couple of months. Although I wouldn’t necessarily describe Kigali as “third-world” (it’s actually a great place to live and relatively developed), it is lacking in these two “American necessities” I crave on a daily basis–or at least so I thought.

When I first stepped into the African Bagel Company (ABC) last Saturday, I was greeted with quite a surprising view–more Americans per square foot than there are Americans per square foot in the entire United States. After getting over my shock, I sat down to enjoy an AMAZING donut and an equally AMAZING bagel sandwich. [They also had frozen pizzas, cinnamon rolls, salsa, hummus and a variety of other amazing things, but I was stuffed beyond return after eating that bagel sandwich.]

Later on I discovered a fact that made that donut and bagel sandwich I ate seem even more amazing; ABC functions for the sole purpose of helping impoverished women. 100% of ABC’s profits (minus operating costs of course) go directly to the women who make and serve all the food that ABC provides. How awesome is that?

In addition to having my craving satisfied, it feels great to know that I helped make a difference in the lives of impoverished women. Even though most (if not all) of you aren’t anywhere near Kigali, you can always help make a difference in the lives of the impoverished by just being more intentional about what you buy at the grocery store. Check out our new “Fair Trade” page under our Index to learn more about how you can help.

P.S. If you ever make it to Kigali…you should definitely visit ABC. Just look at that sandwich…doesn’t it look great?!?!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

