What’s Your Slavery Footprint?

“Bonded labor is used for much of Southeast Asia’s shrimping industry, which supplies more shrimp to the U.S. than any other country. Laborers work up to 20-hour days to peel 40 pounds of shrimp. Those who attempt to escape are under constant threat of violence or sexual assault.”

“Every day tens of thousands of American women buy makeup. Every day tens of thousands of Indian children mine mica, which is the little sparklies in the makeup.”

“Coltan is an effective capacitor found in electronics. A U.S. State Department official was interviewed about Coltan mining in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. He pointed to the reporter’s smartphone and said, “The likelihood that one of these was not touched by a slave is pretty low.””

What? The shrimp I eat, the makeup I wear, and my smart phone could be linked to slavery? I don’t know about you, but I am not okay with that. Although I try to be aware about the products I purchase, sometimes I just don’t realize how my everyday items are linked to slavery. I took the Slavery Footprint quiz and found out that 40 slaves work for me. Now it is time for me to take action and find ways I can reduce my use of slavery. Find out how many slaves work for you, click here to take the Slavery Footprint quiz.

To learn more about Slavery Footprint, click here.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

